To remove a client from AppColl, everything associated with the client (billing items, invoices, matters, tasks) must be removed first. This is a safety measure to prevent accidental deletion of a client. For example, inventors can not be deleted until their associated matters are removed; matters cannot be deleted until all billing items associated with them have been removed; billing items cannot be removed until the underlying invoices have been deleted.
- Delete Invoices
- Delete Billing Items
- Delete Matters
- Delete Tasks
- Delete Inventors of the Client
- Delete Client Files and Folders
- Delete the Client
Step 1: Delete Invoices
If you created invoices for the client, those invoices must be removed first by following the below steps. If no invoices were created, scroll down to the next section.
- Go to the Billing Items page.
- Ensure that Show items already invoiced is checked.
- Click the Add Filters button.
- Filter for all payment billing items for the desired client by using the filters below. (If you are unfamiliar with filtering, click here).
- Click the Select all rows checkbox. Note the number of billing items at the top of the screen. If there are more items than shown on the screen, change the Items/Page drop down in the Change View section to be greater than the number of billing items to be deleted.
- Click the Delete button.
- Next, hover over the Billing module and select Manage Invoices.
- Click the Add Filter button.
- Add a filter for all invoices for the desired client.
- Open each invoice and change the Status to Pending and save the changes.
- With each invoice now updated to Pending Status, click the Select all rows checkbox.
- Click the Delete button.
A popup will appear describing any errors in this process. Fix the errors and try to delete again.
Step 2: Delete Billing Items
Once all invoices have been deleted, the billing items can be deleted as well.
- Go to the Billing Items page.
- Ensure that Show items already invoiced is checked.
- Click the Add Filters button.
- Filter for all billing items for the client.
- Click the Select all rows checkbox. Note the number of billing items at the top of the screen. If there are more items than shown on the screen, change the Items/Page drop down in the Change View section to be greater than the number of billing items to be deleted.
- Click the Delete button.
Step 3: Delete Matters
Once all invoices and billing items have been removed, matters are deleted next.
- Go to the Matters module.
- Click the Add Filters button.
- Filter for all matters for the client.
- Click the Select all rows checkbox. If there are more items than shown on the screen be sure to change the ‘Items/Page’ drop down in the Change View section to be greater than the number of matters to be deleted.
- Click the Delete button.
Step 4: Delete Tasks
All tasks should have been deleted with their underlying matters. To verify this:
- Go to the Tasks module.
- Select All Tasks in the Change View section.
- Click the Add Filters button.
- Filter on the client. If any rows are returned, delete them. If no rows are returned, proceed to the next step.
Step 5: Delete Inventors of the Client
After all matters and tasks have been deleted, the inventors can be deleted.
- Go to the Contacts module.
- Click the Add Filters button.
- Filter for the Company (Client) and the Role (Inventor)
- Click the Select all rows checkbox.
- Click the Delete button.
Use this same method to delete any other contacts associated with the client by removing the "Inventor" filter.
Step 6: Delete Client Files and Folders
Although all matter files and folders should be deleted when the underlying matters are deleted, you still should verify this.
- Go to the Files module.
- Click the Add Filters button.
- Filter on the folder named after the client or the client's code.
If your filter doesn't return anything, proceed to the next step. If your filter returns a folder for the client, check the check box next to it and click the Delete button.
Step 7: Delete the Client
You've made it to the final step.
- Go to the Contacts module.
- Locate the Client you wish to delete and select the row.
- Click the Delete button.
- If the client record is successfully deleted, you're done. If there are one or more errors, you will receive a popup window.
- Click the Columns link.
- Add the UsedBy column to your table. This column will show where the contact is still being used.
- Select the link in the associated UsedBy column to see where the client is still in use and follow the steps for any of the areas above to delete the appropriate records.

















