Start Here: Create Tandem Accounts for Clients

Learn how to create Tandem accounts for clients quickly and easily.

Last published at: December 19th, 2023

Share this article:

AppColl Tandem accounts are a great solution for clients requesting direct access to their IP information in your account.

You can invite your clients to setup a no-cost Tandem account and receive updates of their data from your account. 

 

Steps to send an Invitation to a client to setup a Tandem Account

To invite one of your clients to setup Tandem account do the following:

  1. From the Settings page, select the Account Syncing tab and click on the Send Tandem Invite button.
     
  2. If required changed the name of the contact sending the email.
     
  3. Enter the name of a contact to receive the invite. To appear in the list of possible recipients, a contact must be associated with a client and must have an email address. Roles that allow for this include, Corporate Counsel, Employee, Inventor and Manager. You can manually change the client associated with the contact for the invite. This could be useful, for example, when sending an invite to a contractor that works for multiple clients.
     
  4. You can edit the text in the email before sending. Some special fields are available to insert information into the email.
{AccountName} – Replaced with the name of your AppColl account.
{From.First} - Replaced with the first name of the person sending the invitation.
{From.Last} – Replaced with the last name of the person sending the invitation.
{To.First} - Replaced with the first name of the person receiving the invitation.
{To.Last} – Replaced with the last name of the person receiving the invitation.
{Link} – AppColl will replace {link} with the word “here”, which is the link the recipient should click on to setup their Tandem account. Do not change the text inside the curly brackets. You must include this field somewhere in the body of your email.
{AccountName} – Replaced with the name of your AppColl account.
{EmailPostamble} – Replaced with the Email Postamble from your settings.

 

  1. Click Send. Note that the text you typed will be saved to be reloaded when you next send an invitation.

All invitation links are only valid for 7 days. After that, you will need to resend the invitation. If the client wants to use a different email address as their login user name, you will need to resend the email to the correct address.

 

What Happens When an Invitation is Accepted?

When a client accepts your invitation to setup an account, several things happen.

  • An email is sent to the sender indicating the invitation has been accepted.
  • The Tandem account is created for the client with the email address as their login user name.
  • An account syncing configuration is created to automatically transfer information between your account and the client’s account. By default, this configuration syncs the follow information:
- All of your client's matters, regardless of the type. Note that only key bibliographic fields are transferred by default. The Notes field and any custom fields are not included.
- All external deadline tasks (open or completed) associated with your clients matters. Comments are not included. IMPORTANT: This means your client will see any past-due external deadline tasks.
- All contacts associated with your clients matters and external deadline tasks.
 
To see which exact matters will be transferred, go to the Matters module and view the ‘Tandem Matter Sync - <client name>’ report. This will show the fields and matters transferred.
  • An account sync is scheduled for the early morning of the next day. If you want to send the data immediately click on the Sync Now button in the Account Syncing tab of the settings page.

You can send invitations to multiple people within a client. The first person to accept will create the Tandem account and setup the syncing. Subsequent accepts will simply create logins to the existing Tandem account.

 

Review Previous Invitations

All invite emails are saved in Files module in a folder called ‘TandemInvites’. You can click on the View Tandem Invites button from the settings page to see previous invitations. In the Notes column in the list, you can see if a client has accepted your invitation.

 

 

Changing the Account Syncing Between your Account and Client’s Account

AppColl Tandem accounts receive data via the Account Syncing feature of AppColl PM Plus. For more information, click here.

To temporarily disable the nightly syncing of data, uncheck the Enabled column next to the syncing record for the client.

To stop the syncing completely, click on the trash can on the right of the syncing record for the client.

To change the data being synced, click on the Edit button on the right of the syncing record or go to the Matters module and modify the ‘Tandem Matter Sync - <client name>’ report to change the matters and/or fields being sent.